Thing 3: Digital Footprint

I found the Digital Footprint document on e-Professionalism  a thoughtful and practical guide. I was interested in the emphasis on what you want to be in the future and on the future audience:

  • What information do you want someone to find, if they search for you online?
  • Do you want to keep your professional and personal identities separate or blended?
  • What advantages/disadvantages might this have both in the short and longer term?
  • If you have multiple online identities on different platforms, is it obvious that they belong to you?

Much of this guide is about intentionalality – reflecting on what you are doing and why?

I also like the points made about “voice” including the crucial are you writing in a personal or professional capacity? You can be writing in an informal style – but still in a professional capacity for example.

The Digital Footprint E-professionalism Case Study is a useful resource which gives you some good ideas for conducting your own ‘digital footprint’ audit.

My name is fairly common so I don’t find myself high up the google search terms with this alone (this could be considered an advantage if you don’t want to be found easily!) . I am on the first page of listings of people with my name on LinkedIn – which is where I’d like to be found. If I add my home town I see several results, top of the list in my profile on our team blog – again I’m happy to be associated with this!

I did find a couple of neglected profiles – so I may need to follow up with a little pruning!

 

Leave a Reply

